Sunflower Milk

I put off making sunflower milk for some time, because like sesame milk, it just sounded too bitter for my tastes, let alone my kids’. But I didn’t have any almonds. Or cashews. And the hempseeds sat abandoned in my fridge while had I come to the conclusion that I was not fond of their flavor as milk.

There I had it, my only other option was using sunflower seeds, which also sat neglected in the cupboard as I whined to myself, “but it will be bitter!”

I thought for a moment about my predicament before deciding I would simply add maple syrup. My end result was actually inspired from the way Matthew Kenney (“Everyday Raw”) makes his almond milk. Using coconut oil and lecithin I added to the recipe that called for only sunflower seeds, salt and water. Now with sweetener and thickener I was set. Well, with it being Autumn and all, I threw in a dash of cinnamon too.

I knew my milk would be great and set myself up to share a photo of it on my Facebook page. One of my friends “liked” it immediately and we began discussing the recipe and other alternative milks. From our conversation I went on the next day to make Chocolate Sunflower Milk.

Pleasantly both versions were liked by myself, my son, and my husband. My daughter did drink some without turning up her nose but also finished at the table before her cup was empty. She may prefer her milk mixed into porridge or a smoothie rather than as a stand alone beverage. Or maybe she just needs more maple syrup in it.

¼ c of sunflower seeds makes two cups of milk.

Sunflower Milk

¼ c sunflower seeds, raw and hulled

2 c water (hot or cold depending on how you want your milk)

½ tsp lecithin

1 Tbsp coconut oil

1 Tbsp maple syrup

Pinch of sea salt

Heavy dash of cinnamon

Chocolate Sunflower Milk

¼ c sunflower seeds, raw and hulled

2 c water (hot or cold depending on how you want your milk)

½ tsp lecithin

1 Tbsp coconut oil

2 Tbsp maple syrup

Pinch of sea salt

Heavy dash of cinnamon

1 Tbsp raw cacao powder


Blend all ingredients together on high for one minute. Strain through a nut milk bag. If you used hot water than be careful to press the bag with a spoon against the container you are straining into rather than squeezing the bag with your hand. 

If you have a heavier sweet tooth you may be inclined to add extra maple syrup in the chocolate version as the cacao powder does carry its own bitterness.

Now as I snack on pumpkin seeds I wonder how they would fare as milk.

 

 

Gallery | This entry was posted in Edible, Kitchen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunflower Milk

  1. I would like to try it on my Cheerios.

    Like

Leave a Reply

