Mango Green Smoothie

There are few things on the vibrant health menu that my kids ask for (so far!). With this past week bringing several hot spring days, I have met the week with an abundance of smoothie making. They started out with a lenghthy list of additions but as the days passed my smoothie became simpler. Still, they were all based based on the key ingredients mango, lime, mint, honey and greens.

The first smoothie had all of the above, with spinach as the greens, an orange and a dash of apple juice. The next one also had spinach, an orange and some pineapple. The day after that it was kale instead of spinach (no orange or pineapple or apple juice). Today, when my kids asked me for the “green smoothie” I made the simple kale version. I had about one sip of it!

My estimated quantities are as follows:

2 C frozen mango

1 handful of fresh mint leaves

juice of 1/2 lime

2 dinosaur kale leaves (stems removed)

1 tsp raw honey

1 1/2 C water

Blend on high for about 1 minute. You can increase the quantities as you please or add more ingredients. My husband drank a whole quart of smoothie one day after mowing the lawn. Have fun!

Gallery | This entry was posted in Edible, Kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

