Unseasonably Delicious Nachos

IMG_1071-1

This dish makes me grateful for Mexico – from where our bell peppers and avocados came. It’s getting warm in the North West but our spring does not bring peppers or avocados. My son picked a bag of baby bells from the store and since I realized I had no salsa, I combined finely chopped bells with a shallot, cilantro, lime, a drizzle of orange, and salt.

With the beans I mixed cumin, garlic powder, and salt. The guacamole was simply avocado, lime, and salt.

Part of the chips were covered in pepper jack cheese while the other part – for the kids – was white cheddar. I also only topped theirs with lettuce, although Everett added beans to his plate. For kids who love chips I was pleasantly surprised when the first thing they asked for more of was…(drum roll please)….lettuce!!

We had a combined dinner at my mother-in-law’s house and everyone was happy with the nachos.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Community, Kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Unseasonably Delicious Nachos

  1. Glenda says:

    Great work!!!! and beautiful picture. Go Girl Go!!!!

    Like

  2. Trea says:

    Sounds good! (I’d have to leave off the cheese on mine and Jack’s) Hubs and Jonas are sure to love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

