Chocolate Hike

There is something magical about raw chocolate. Any kind of chocolate can make me happy but honestly a few raw macaroons takes my love deeper.

When I want something sweet I turn to Matthew Kenny’s book Everyday Raw. From shakes to granola to macaroons he has my sweet tooth covered.

I followed his recipe for Chocolate-Ginger Macaroons for the most part, straying from macadamia nuts to almonds and from maple syrup to agave. I typically use maple syrup and love its flavor with cacao powder but I found a good deal on agave syrup and wanted to try it.

I actually used the pulp from almond milk I made right before these instead of chopped nuts. I love how creamy the pulp made the inside of the macaroon. Matthew Kenney has the best Almond Milk recipe I know. I have done the typical almonds and water plenty of times but I go back to Kenny’s version for its creamy texture.

For Macaroons:

1 3/4 C dried, shredded coconut (unsweetened)

3/4 C almonds, chopped

3/4 C cacao powder

less than 1/4 C agave syrup

heaping 1/4 C of coconut oil, melted

1 Tbsp ground ginger

1 tsp vanilla extract

pinch of sea salt

Mix the dry ingredients together first and then add the wet ingredients. Use a spoon to scoop the mixture into your hand and form a ball. Press it down gently onto the non-stick dehydrator sheet. Nibble your way through the mixture of course.

Dehydrate these overnight at 105 deg F. Kenny instructs that these should be dehydrated for two days, one day on the non-stick and a second day on the mesh screen. I have never made it past the first day. My macaroons come out soft and chewy. They are crumbly when fresh but hold together after a time in the refridgerator. I put them in a sealed container and then pulled them out the next day for our waterfall hike with friends.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Community, Kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

