Peas and Asparagus

Last night I asked the kids what they wanted for dinner. I hadn’t decided on anything and was curious to see what their response would be to the invitation to choose. They typically don’t hesitate to offer their opinions as I am mid-recipe.

I expected to hear an answer in line with my daughter’s request, “I want oatmeal”. What I wasn’t expecting was for my son to say, “pea soup”. Really? I typed into Pintrist “pea soup recipes”. Most of them were for split peas and used a crock pot. It was too late for me to start that. I had several bags of peas in the freezer so I changed my search to “spring pea soup”. Still, most had mint or asparagus in them which I didn’t have. I told my son that I wasn’t sure if I could make pea soup because I didn’t have all the ingredients. His reply was “I like asparagus”. HAHA! Ok. I decided to call Dad who was on his way home from work. I asked him to pick up asparagus.

First, I served the kids oatmeal with raisins and cinnamon. We were out of honey but they didn’t mind. I think they were happy enough to get oatmeal for dinner and they weren’t going to reject it for lack of honey.

Second, both kids sat on the counter while I used the cutting board that fit over the sink to chop onion and asparagus. They stirred the pot, poured the broth, sprinkled herbs and asked repeatedly if it was done yet. The last step was to blend it. Ember loves to help cook even if she thinks what we are making is “disgusting”. She ate a frozen pea to which she proceeded to exclaim, “uck! It’s bitter”.

With the soup done and blended we set the table with bowls and bread. My daughter said she wasn’t going to be eating pea soup. I was not surprised when I pulled out the bread when she told me she wanted some. “This is for the soup Ember. You don’t want soup today so you are not going to eat this bread.” Surprisingly, rather than get frustrated (who wouldn’t be frustrated if denied a favorite food!) she pronounced, “but I am going to have soup!”

As the soup cooled we said grace and told stories about our day. Not long after a handful of bites my son began to slowly slide to the edge of his chair. “I’m done” he said quietly. I asked if something was wrong with it. “Too much salt” was his critique. I wondered it if was perhaps too much pepper, or maybe he didn’t like pea and asparagus soup after all. We settled that it was ok to be disappointed and he took a few more bites per my request to finish his bowl.

My daughter, sitting beside him, was shoving spoonfuls of soup into her mouth like there was no tomorrow. “I like this soup because it has asparagus and peas in it!” was her final opinion.

Dad and I both agreed that the soup was good. We could pepper our own bowls next time though (in case that was the reason Everett didn’t like it). I used less asparagus and more peas than the recipe called for which my husband said was a good choice. I also used only one onion where the recipe called for two.

The original recipe can be found here:

asparagus & pea soup

My version is as follows:

1 10 oz bag of frozen  peas

Half a bundle of asparagus, chopped

1 medium yellow onion, chopped

1 large clove of garlic, sliced

¼ tsp dried sage

¼ tsp dried oregano

¼ tsp dried thyme

½ tsp salt

Cracked pepper

1 ½ cups vegetable broth (if using 3C water and no broth then add more herbs and salt to taste)

1 ½ cups water

2 Tbps olive oil

(the original recipe calls for celery but we had just eaten ourselves out earlier in the day and didn’t have any for the soup)

Heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion and asparagus. When translucent, add the garlic. After a couple minutes add the herbs, salt, pepper (unless you are waiting to pepper individual bowls) and frozen peas. Once the peas are warm add the broth. I let the soup get hot without coming to a boil and then turned the stove off.

Pour the soup into your blender. Take the center cap out of the blender’s lid and use a rag to cover the hole in order for steam to escape. Start low and then blend higher. Blend on high for about 30-60 seconds or until it looks well blended.

Pour into bowls and serve.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

